Saturday, 13 August 2011

Original Fling (UK) -- cassettes

Original Fling was a Folk Rock band that were hugely popular on the Kent pub circuit during the 90s, playing a mixture of original, traditional and cover material. There is a huge Pogues influence at work here, along with dashes of The Levellers and The Waterboys, all spiced with a liberal dash of anarchic humour. The band was centered around multi-instrumentalist frontman Kev Smith, and in later years he continued the band as a solo act entitled The Fling, until he sadly died at the end of last year.


These cassettes are from the full lineup era of the band; I also own a couple of later CDs of the duo and solo incarnations, which I may post at a later date.

Original Fling -- "Drink Down" cassette (1992)

01. Buck Your Feet Up
02. Fool Like You
03. Jesse James
04. Oxley Bottom
05. Drink Down
06. Irish Rover
07. Sails In The Wind
08. The Clan
09. Greenland Whale Fisheries
10. Clan William Rd.
11. Chains
12. Hometown

Original Fling -- "Captain Morris EP" cassette (1993)

01. Sails In The Wind
02. Medley
03. Captain Morris
04. Jesse James

Original Fling -- "Put The Tea On" cassette (1996?)

01. The Devil Went Down To Dover
02. Put The Tea On
03. Hero
04. Dirty Old Town
05. Mary
06. Mutiny
07. January 8th
08. Fighting Creed
09. Jailerman
10. The Sleeper
11. Rakes Of Kildare

I am missing a couple of earlier tapes called "Stomp It" and "The Huntsman EP". If anyone has these, please get in touch!

No comments: